(Photo Courtesy of the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University)

Hello All,

Attached is the second lesson plan that I have created, titled “Famous Figures of Cleveland”. It covers businessman John D. Rockefeller, President James Garfield, and poet Langston Hughes. As mentioned in my previous post, it is geared towards middle school and early high school students. I hope that it inspires an interest in the history of Cleveland and the important national role that it played in the late-19th to 20th century. I also hope it inspires students to pursue local history in general, and I have included some activities to help educators and students provide a directed focus towards local history in their area. All of the links are located inside the lesson plan this time. The lesson plan is located below and I look forward to hearing your feedback.

Famous Figures of Cleveland

